We all seek out advice for many different things. Relationships, clothes, food – we want the opinions of our friends and colleagues. As a recent graduate and job seeker, most of the advice I’ve been seeking lately is related to my job search. What should I include on my resume? How should I format this cover letter? Should I mention that I have experience in A to help set myself apart?

I’ve had the pleasure to go on a number of informational interviews this summer and talk to other professionals in other cities. All have been so willing to offer their advice and suggestions, which I could not be more thankful for. However, I find myself drowning in a sea of very useful advice, which differs from professional to professional while I try and fight against the current of my personal thoughts and strategies.

There are a few reasons why I feel so conflicted. I know I hate it when I give someone advice and my suggestions are ignored. I feel as if they didn’t listen at all and that I wasted my time in talking with them. I don’t want the professionals, who take time out of their busy schedules to talk with me, to feel like I’m wasting their time by not accepting their advice. I genuinely want their suggestions and appreciate all of the advice I have received, even if I may not have taken it. However, I often find myself feeling guilty if I choose not to follow through on a suggestion.

In my opinion, it all comes down to what you are comfortable with and what ultimately works for you and what you feel comfortable with. In my experience, professionals have offered more than one suggestion on any given topic. I always make a few changes to whatever they critique, after all, they know way more about finding a job than I do. If I have to decline advice, I respectfully explain why I would like to keep something the same and continuously thank them for their suggestions.

To those seeking advice: How do you deal with different suggestions? Do you aim to please and accept all suggestions, or mix and match to create something that works for you?

To those giving advice: How do you feel when your suggestions aren’t accepted?

