I use this phrase a lot. I first started using it two summers ago as my dad and I were driving to southern Germany to see the famous Neuschwanstein castle. I was armed with translated driving directions as he manned our little Fiat car. He would ask me, “Where do I go next?” and I would tell him what my directions said. Many times they were incomplete or didn’t make sense, not because I didn’t translate correctly, but thats just what the direction said. He usually got mad and would start going on about how we would get lost and blah blah blah. So, I simply said “Dad, its all part of the adventure.”

I like to use this phrase when things aren’t necessarily going the way you expect them. Now, I’m about to graduate in 2 weeks and many of my other friends are also graduating soon. We all dread the question “So what are you doing after graduation?” While I’ve recently accepted the fact that I probably won’t have a job immediately after I graduate (and I want to thank Jason Mollica’s post for that) its still something I have to think about. But, it’s all part of the adventure. Everything I do from the time I graduate, to searching for the first job, to landing the first job, and beyond is just another adventure. I don’t have the luxury of having a road map and directions guiding me somewhere, but I know what I have to do.

So, college graduates, are you going home to live with your parents for a little after graduation? It’s all part of the adventure. Planning on picking up and moving to a brand new city where you don’t know anyone? It’s all part of the adventure. Is that first job everything you wanted it to be or is it something different than what you expected? It’s all part of the adventure.

Just keep your final goal in mind and you’ll eventually get there. Sometimes the best experiences happen off the beaten trail, when you least expect them, so don’t try to over think everything and take them as they roll!

It’s all part of the adventure.